Pourquoi Aller en Afrique avec des Enfants est Génial ?

Vous avez donc pris votre décision. Vous partez en vacances en Afrique. Vous avez préparé un itinéraire qui comprend tout ce que vous voulez y faire. Il ne vous reste plus qu'à réserver vos billets d'avion. Mais il y a encore une chose dont vous n'êtes pas sûr : devez-vous voyager en Afrique avec vos enfants ? En tant que parent, vous êtes bien sûr toujours préoccupé par la sécurité de vos enfants. Alors, vous vous demandez naturellement s'il est risqué d'emmener des enfants en Afrique ? Nous allons vous donner un peu de perspective, afin que vous puissiez prendre une décision éclairée. Tout d'abord, permettez-nous de vous dire que, si c'est sans danger pour vous, c'est sans danger pour vos enfants, à moins qu'ils n'aient une condition préexistante qui les rend vulnérables à un environnement tropical. Voyager en Afrique est-il sans risque ? Certainement pas, dans la mesure où tout peut arriver lors d'un voyage - dans votre pays d'origine ou à l'étranger - ou même lorsque vous emmenez simplement vos enfants à l'école. La vie n'est pas sans risque. Nous devrions tous faire face à cette réalité.

Vacances en Famille en Afrique

Africa with kids: new friends, new games

Les voyages forment la jeunesse, comme dit le proverbe. Et des vacances en famille en Afrique marqueront sans aucun doute vos enfants. Les avantages d'emmener vos enfants en Afrique dépassent de loin ce que vous pouvez imaginer.

J'ai une petite fille de sept ans, et j'ai déjà voyagé trois fois avec elle en Afrique. Ma femme et moi voyageons avec elle depuis sa naissance. Nous l'avons emmenée pour son premier voyage quand elle avait quatre mois, et nous n'avons pas cessé de lui faire découvrir le monde depuis. Nous avons une carte de tous les pays qu'elle a visités, et elle est plutôt bien remplie pour un enfant de sept ans. Nous avons voulu qu'il en soit ainsi dans sa vie ; nous pensons que l'exposition à des cultures et des personnes différentes est essentielle et doit faire partie de l'éducation d'un enfant.

Des vacances en Afrique ne sont pas des vacances typiques. Dans un monde où la culture occidentale domine la plus grande partie de la planète, l'Afrique est toujours ancrée dans ses traditions et possède une identité unique. La richesse du continent ne réside pas dans ses aspects matériels. Sa richesse est plutôt culturelle et spirituelle. En emmenant vos enfants en Afrique, vous leur permettez de vivre des expériences différentes.

Vos enfants ne seront pas les seuls touchés par ces vacances familiales en Afrique. La visite de la Terre Mère profite à la fois aux enfants et aux parents. Examinons d'abord les avantages pour les enfants.

Avantages de Voyager en Afrique Pour les Enfants :

Un petit garçon aide sa mère à dénuder le manioc
  • Exposition aux langues étrangères - En raison de la diversité ethnique du continent, vos enfants seront exposés à plusieurs langues étrangères. Les enfants exposés aux langues étrangères dès leur plus jeune âge ont de bonnes compétences linguistiques lorsqu'ils grandissent.
  • Dégustation de nouveaux mets - L'expérience alimentaire en Afrique est différente en raison des ingrédients utilisés et de la façon dont les Africains mangent. Ils peuvent manger avec leurs mains, et dans certains endroits, tout le monde mange dans la même assiette. Ces expériences sont plus amusantes et plus intéressantes pour les enfants. L'exposition à différentes cuisines élargit également le goût des enfants.
  • Leçon d'histoire du continent - Quel que soit le pays que vous visitez, vous aurez sans aucun doute l'occasion d'en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire de l'Afrique. Vous apprendrez non seulement sur la traite des esclaves, mais aussi sur la grandeur des anciens royaumes africains. Tout cela n'est pas enseigné à l'école. Si plus de gens connaissaient la véritable histoire des Noirs, il y aurait moins de racisme dans notre monde. En exposant vos enfants à ces connaissances, vous en ferez des êtres humains plus tolérants.
  • Rencontres avec une faune et une flore différentes - Les enfants sont souvent excités de voir des animaux. Selon le pays que vous visitez, vos enfants pourront voir des espèces animales dans leur habitat naturel, qu'ils ne voient autrement que dans les livres ou au zoo. Il en va de même pour la végétation ; nous sommes sûrs qu'ils adoreront voir des plantes exotiques et apprendre comment elles sont utilisées.
  • Découverte d'autres façons de jouer - Les enfants croient généralement que tous les autres enfants ont une vie similaire à la leur. Le simple fait de voir les différentes façons dont les autres enfants jouent les aidera à améliorer leur créativité et à développer leurs capacités d'exploration. Les enfants africains créent un jeu à partir de rien. Ainsi, en permettant à vos enfants de jouer avec eux, vous leur offrez un merveilleux cadeau.
  • Perspective sur la vie - Dans le cadre d'une visite africaine bien conçue, vous aurez l'occasion de voir comment les habitants vivent dans les villes et les villages. En sachant très tôt que les gens du monde entier ne se ressemblent pas, ne s'habillent pas et ne vivent pas de la même façon, vous aidez votre enfant à devenir plus compréhensif.

En tant que parents, l'observation des différentes façons dont les parents élèvent leurs enfants élargira votre perspective sur l'éducation des enfants.

Avantages de Voyager en Afrique Avec des Enfants Pour les Parents :

Petite fille portant sa jeune sœur sur le dos
  • Observation de relations différentes entre frères et sœurs - Les enfants africains sont souvent laissés en liberté dès leur plus jeune âge. Ils sont pris en charge par leurs frères et sœurs plus âgés, qui n'ont parfois qu'un an ou deux de plus. Cela développe leur sentiment d'appartenance à la fratrie. 
  • Émerveillement devant les capacités des enfants - Lorsque vous serez en Afrique, vous verrez certainement des enfants faire des choses que vous ne laisseriez jamais votre enfant faire. Par exemple, regardez la vidéo ci-dessus d'un garçon africain de trois ans qui aide sa mère à dénuder du manioc avec un grand couteau. En partageant cet exemple, nous ne prétendons pas que vous devez laisser vos enfants jouer avec des lames. Nous voulons simplement souligner que les enfants peuvent faire des choses incroyables si nous les éduquons et si nous leur faisons confiance.
  • Admirer la joie intense des enfants - Pendant vos vacances en Afrique, vous rencontrerez sûrement des enfants très joyeux. Leur bonheur est contagieux, et vous vous sentirez ravi de leur compagnie, tout comme vos enfants. La joie d'un enfant nous montre que nous avons besoin de si peu pour être heureux.
  • Perspective sur le style parental - En voyage, observez comment les bébés sont allaités à tout moment et en tout lieu et portés sur le dos de leurs parents. Observez également les privilèges et les responsabilités des frères et sœurs plus âgés. Vous comprendrez les différentes pratiques parentales et qu'il n'y a pas une seule façon de faire les choses.

Voyager en Afrique Avec des Enfants d'Origine Africaine

Nous pensons que voyager en Afrique avec des enfants les aide à développer des valeurs universelles. Toutefois, cet article est d'autant plus pertinent pour les personnes d'origine africaine. Où que vous viviez et quelle que soit l'histoire de votre famille, votre lieu d'origine devrait être significatif pour vous et encore plus pour vos enfants, car il façonne l'identité d'une personne. Veiller à ce que vos enfants maintiennent des liens avec leur origine, c'est leur donner des opportunités et des expériences que leurs ancêtres n'ont peut-être pas eues. Vos enfants ne sont peut-être pas encore capables de comprendre ce que vous leur donnez, mais ils vous remercieront un jour.

Bien entendu, tous les avantages spécifiques énumérés ci-dessus ne trouveront pas nécessairement un écho chez tout le monde. Nous sommes tous différents, avec des sensibilités, des environnements et des contraintes variés. Néanmoins, le fait de voir comment les enfants sont aimés dans d'autres cultures élargit notre perspective et nous fera reconsidérer certains de nos principes parentaux. En fin de compte, l'exposition à des perspectives différentes ne peut être que positive pour nos enfants. Alors, oui, nous vous recommandons vivement de voyager en Afrique avec vos enfants !

Written by Thierry Sanvee

Thierry Sanvee is the founder of the tour operator Meet Africa. He designs custom tours in West Africa. He creates genuine experiences that will inspire you. Schedule a free consultation with him and start planning your fantastic voyage!

Partagez ce Post sur les Réseaux Sociaux

Why Traveling To Africa With Kids Is A Cool Idea

An old african woman with her son

So, you have made up your mind. You are going to visit Africa. You have prepared an itinerary to include everything you want to do there. All you have to do now is book your air tickets. But, there is still one thing you are unsure of: Is it a good idea to travel to Africa with kids? As a parent, you are, of course, always concerned about the safety of your kids. So, you naturally wonder, is it risky to bring kids to Africa? Well, we are here to give you some perspective so that you can make an educated decision. First, allow us to say that, if it is safe for you, it is safe for your children, unless they have a pre-existing condition that makes them vulnerable to a tropical environment. Is traveling to Africa risk-free? Certainly not, in the sense that anything can happen on any trip—within your home country or abroad—or even when you are just bringing your kids to school. Life is not risk-free. We should all confront this reality.

Family Vacation to Africa

Africa with kids: new friends, new games

Travel shapes youth, as the saying goes. And a family vacation to Africa will undoubtedly leave a mark on your children. The benefits of traveling to Africa with kids are far beyond what you can imagine.

I have a seven-year-old little girl, and I have already traveled with her to Africa three times. My wife and I have been traveling with her since she was born. We took her on her first trip when she was four months old, and we haven’t stopped showing her around the world since. We have a map of all the countries she has visited, and it looks pretty good for a seven-year-old. We planned for her life to be this way; we believe that exposure to different cultures and people is educational and should be part of a child’s upbringing.

A vacation in Africa is not your typical vacation. In a world where Western culture dominates most of the planet, Africa is still rooted in its traditions and has a unique identity. The wealth of the continent is not in its material aspects. Its wealth is more cultural and spiritual. By going to Africa with kids, you are allowing them to experience different things.

Your children will not be the only ones impacted by this family vacation to Africa. Visiting the Motherland benefits both children and parents. Let’s look at the benefits for the children first.

Benefits of Traveling to Africa for Children :

Little boy helping his mum skin cassava
  • Break from tablets and other electronic devices - Depending on where you stay, you won’t always have access to WIFI or 4G. Consequently, your kids will not be able to abuse their screen-time, which is something we all struggle with.
  • Exposure to foreign languages – Due to the ethnic diversity in the continent, your children will be exposed to several foreign languages. Children exposed to foreign languages at an early age have good language skills when they grow up.
  • Tasting new delicacies - The food experience in Africa is different because of the ingredients used and because of the way Africans eat. They can eat with their hands, and in some places, everyone eats from the same plate. These experiences are more fun and interesting for children. Exposure to different cuisines also widens a child’s palate.
  • Learning about the history of the continent - Irrespective of the country you are visiting, you will undoubtedly have the opportunity to learn about African history. You will learn not only about the slave trade but also about the grandeur of ancient African kingdoms. All of this is not taught at school. If more people knew about the real history of Black people, there would be less racism in our world. Exposing your children to this knowledge will make them more compassionate human beings.
  • Encounters with different fauna and flora - Children are often excited to see animals. Depending on the country you are visiting, your children will be able to see faunae in their natural habitat, which they otherwise get to see only in books or at the zoo. The same goes for vegetation; we are sure they will love to see exotic plants and learn what they are used for.
  • Discovering other ways of playing - Children generally believe that all other children have a life similar to theirs. Just seeing the different ways in which other children play will help them improve their creativity and develop their exploration skills. African children can make a game out of nothing. So, by allowing your children to play them, you give them all a wonderful present.
  • Perspective on life - In a mindfully designed African tour, you will have opportunities to see how locals live in cities and villages. Knowing early on that people across the world don’t look, dress, or live the same way helps a child grow to be more understanding.

As parents, observing different ways parents nurture their children will widen your perspective on parenting.

Benefits of Traveling to Africa with Kids for the Parents :

Little girl carrying her younger sibling on the back
  • Observing different sibling relationships - African children are often let to roam freely from an early age. They are taken care of by their older siblings, who are sometimes just a year or two older. This develops their sense of togetherness with their siblings. 
  • Wonder of children’s abilities - When in Africa, you will definitely see children do things that you would never let your child do. For example, watch the above video of a three-year-old African boy helping his mother skin cassava with a big knife. By sharing this example, we are not saying you should let your children play with blades. We just want to say that children can do incredible things if we educate and trust them.
  • Experience the pure joy of children - During your vacation in Africa, you will surely meet joyful children. Their happiness is contagious, and you will feel delighted in their company, and so will your children. The joy of a child shows us how little we need to be happy and how less is actually more.
  • Perspective on parenting style - When traveling, observe how babies are breastfed anytime and anywhere and carried on the backs of their parents. Also, observe the privileges and responsibilities of the older siblings. You will understand different parenting styles and that there is no one way of doing things.

Traveling to Africa with Kids of African Descent

We believe traveling to Africa with kids helps them develop universal values. However, this article may resonate better with people of African descent. Wherever you live and whatever your family history is, where you come from should be significant to you and even more to your children, as it shapes the identity of a person, in a way. Ensuring that your children maintain ties with their origin is like giving them opportunities and experiences their ancestors might not have had. Your children might not be able to comprehend what you are giving them yet, but they will thank you one day.

Of course, all the specific benefits listed above will not necessarily resonate with everyone. We are all different with various sensibilities, environments, and constraints. Nevertheless, witnessing how children are loved in other cultures widens our perspective and will make us reconsider some of our parenting principles. In the end, exposure to different perspectives can only be positive for our children. So, yes, we highly recommend traveling to Africa with kids!

Written by Thierry Sanvee

Thierry Sanvee is the founder of the tour operator Meet Africa. He designs custom tours in West Africa. He creates genuine experiences that will inspire you. Schedule a free consultation with him and start planning your fantastic voyage!

Share This Post On Social

 

Featured Tours

Boat ride on the South Togo Tour

Togo

9 days

From $1,285

Explore the stunning nature and vibrant culture of Togo's south, where the welcoming locals will make you feel right at home.

Bouche du Roy: one of the highlights of the South Benin tour

Benin

14 days

From $1,829

2 weeks of deep dive in South Benin's culture, history, marvelous landscapes, and incredible people. A transformative and rich experience not to be missed.

Benin

2 days

From $221

A 2-day tour where you explore the town of Ouidah with its rich history and culture. Then, you relax and take care of yourself at a spa on Lake Ahémé.

Want to know Africa better ?

Receive exclusive tips, special offers, and discover more ways to meet Africa

You May Also Like

An old african woman with her son

You are going to visit Africa. You have prepared an itinerary to include everything you want to do there. All you have to do now is book your air tickets. But, there is still one thing you are unsure of: Should you travel to Africa with your kids?

Traveling to West Africa is an exciting and rewarding experience. It can be the trip of a lifetime. However, many people ask whether it is safe to travel to Africa. Follow these ten safety tips for traveling in West Africa to enjoy your trip to the fullest.

Finally, we saw a signpost indicating that we had reached Kouma Tokpli. As we drove along the main street, we stared at villagers who stared back at us, both of us wondering who amongst us was the most surprised at what we were seeing...